DANE COUNTY CHIEFS OF POLICE ASSOCIATION

Chief Charles Foulke, President Middleton Police Department

Chief Andrew Rose, Vice President Blue Mounds Police Department

Chief James "Harry" Barger, Past President Brooklyn Police Department



Lt. Sara Deuman, Treasurer Monona Police Department

Assistant Chief Kari Sasso, Secretary University of Wisconsin Police Department

February 9, 2017

The Dane County Chiefs of Police Association wants to reassure people who live, work, attend school, drive through or visit our communities that Law Enforcement Officers do not routinely ask people they are in contact with what their immigration status is. Law Enforcement Officers in Dane County do not detain or arrest people solely for suspected violations of immigration laws.

Being practitioners of Community Policing, we realize the chilling effect that the threat of deportation has on people of the immigrant community. We want all people to feel comfortable working with the police, reporting crimes, being witnesses and otherwise participating in everyday activities in our communities.

We are aware that recent events have spread fear and uncertainty to our refugee and immigrant community and it is our intent by releasing this statement to reassure everyone that the right to receive services from Dane County Law Enforcement is not dependent on their immigration status.

Chief Charles Foulke Middleton Police Department 608/824-7305 Dane County Chiefs of Police Association-President On behalf of the Dane County Chiefs of Police Association:

Belleville Police Department Blue Mounds Police Department Brooklyn Police Department Capitol Police Department Cottage Grove Police Department Cross Plains Police Department Dane County Sheriff's Office Dane Police Department Deforest Police Department Fitchburg Police Department Madison Police Department Maple Bluff Police Department Marshall Police Department

McFarland Police Department Middleton Police Department Monona Police Department Mount Horeb Police Department Oregon Police Department Shorewood Hills Police Department Stoughton Police Department Sun Prairie Police Department Town of Madison Police Department University of Wisconsin Police Department Verona Police Department Waunakee Police Department